Is there still a need for better collaboration tools?

Hello, I’m a student and junior designer that came across Open Source Design during my research for a design thesis. I read an article, “Open source design needs better collaboration tools” and was deeply interested in the subject. I noticed though that this was written in 2017, and now I wonder - is there still a need for better collaboration tools between developers and designers for OSS? Is the design/development process still mostly fragmented? What has changed since? I want to open this discussion to any active developers and designers and hear your thoughts. This is all very new to me, and I would love to learn more about collaboration in general. Let’s talk :slightly_smiling_face:

Yes, I think the problems still exist. Commercial tools improved a lot in the meantime, though they might not fit every workflow; The open source ecoysystem got penpot, an open figma-like webservice.

I’ve developed some design operation processes that I think could be replicated in an open source context to drive design work. I have been developing in this in the context of my day job so I don’t have anything to release in regards to that.

If Penpot can do something with more robust version control than the current state of figma, something better and freer than Abstract (paid Sketch plugin) or Kactus (open source version control plugin but it only works with Sketch files which are closed source), I could see something really powerful develop between UI-kit tooling, design tokens, gitlab CI/CD and gitlab ticket structure etc. All open source etc.

The github desops process I developed would easily translate over to gitlab. It’s funny but these processes have less to do with design per se as they do with models of governance for a design system.

2 Likes

TL;DR: hooking in version control to governance (in the way that code reviews and pull requests work for devs) would go a long way to pushing this stuff forward IMO.