Sharing assets to build upon

Story: As a designer I want to share my files so that others can build upon my work. (Or more specifically: I made a poster in Scribus which I want to share with others, but how shall I provide that file and its graphics?)

Problem: For images there are OK sharing platforms, but for other formats, in particular program specific ones, like Libreoffice files or Scribus files, there are none.

Possible solutions:

• Check them in to git/github (that feels icky to me, git does well with plain text, afaic it does not do well with binaries)
  • Use nextcloud/dropbox/younameit (use is, but there is no public instance/platform to share on and not every project can/wants to administrate their own nextcloud)
  • …

What do you do?

2 Likes

For the GNOME Foundation Annual Reports, we collaborated through a git repo. Automatically synced with Sparkleshare.
It’s pretty much a folder with all the images, fonts, sla-files etc.

We also have a Nextcloud instance on cloud.gnome.org, that we use more of an archive.
A place to put screenshots of different releases, outreach/engagement material etc.

3 Likes

At Snowdrift.coop we started using a Seafile instance which a team member set up on her private server.

2 Likes

@jdittrich please, what’s your preferred OS? Might the sharing include concurrent edition of any file by multiple users?

tl;dr there are good reasons for those questions, I’ll not try to squeeze the technical details into this space.

ownCloud, Nextcloud

Consider:

Before joining Open Source Design I tested two public instances:

Of the two, Unixcorn serves me better. Maybe because:

Nos serveurs sont hébergés à Paris, en France.

YMMV.

Compatibility

The current draft of my profile mentions work in progress.

Provider listings

Around the time of testing I reported, to Nextcloud, that some of its provider listings were outdated (indicating free service, where the provider offered no such service).

IPFS

IPFS is the Distributed Web