Getting Designers into Open Source

Hi everyone,

I am koha and I have been having terrible nightmares lately. But I won’t talk about the nightmares here, instead, I’d share a project I whimsically believe could be a contribution to the effort to get designers into open source.

I had a eureka moment about a month ago - I think.

When starting out as a designer, I had to design concept projects, Identify problems and perhaps offer a usable solution. That’s just me in a horde of designers out there already working on random ideas. Even at this stage, all this is done in isolation.

The same goes for budding developers; the struggle to build portfolios leads many down the path of the to-do list app and the never-old calculator app. They build this project without any form of design guide. Most do.

What if things could be done differently? Just a tad bit different.

After days of headbanging, I landed on something.

Factory()
What if there was a place designers can submit designs and a developer can also access them, build them, and add this to their portfolio. The designer also would be able to refer to a live project no matter its size in his/her/their portfolio.

And since my drive was to encourage open source contributions, Github was the place I thought about first.

I scaffolded a dummy sample of how this might look like while ideating but I would love inputs from the community. Hence this elaborate and boring write-up.

Here’s the link:
kohasummons/Factory

1 Like

I’ve been lately also thinking about a ‘Github for artist and designers’
I kinda feel you are hinting on this with your proposal.

A place where ppl can share designs and mayeb even work on them together.

I will look in to your project :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello xox,

I love the response my brain felt when i read your reply. The platform idea kinda rock. Designers would be much more abstracted from the code and focus on conversations that hinge on design, right?