PrePostPrint

Hi there. I want to share a collaborative initiative called PrePostPrint. I am a F/LOSS exclusive designer instructor and artist, and this non-profit project means a lot to me, my collaborators, and I think for the future of printed design. Let me know your thoughts, and subscribe to our mailing list if you are interested to keep updated.

illustration-mail

PrePostPrint is a laboratory and research group for alternative free publishing workflows. We are specifically interested in the creation of hybrid and printed publications with web technologies.

PrePostPrint gathers those working with experimental publishing techniques and helps to make their projects and tools more accessible. We share the desire to re-think all links in the chain of publishing. We want to forego the classical DTP programs and turn to technologies that are more accessible and sociable, and that can evolve and adapt to each given project. Coding becomes a design tool that permits to reinvent the editorial process, and allows to continuously question and re-invent publishing forms and formats.

In the showcase, you will see studios and independent designers working with HTML, CSS (@media print), custom-made tools, but also books and publications made with those technologies, taking advantage of the power of open web standards to publish a new kind of printed objects.

It is obvious that such an approach is possible thanks to libre / open source software and methodologies, also really dependant on open standards. Our workshop focuses on working with such tools or building new ones under open sources licenses.

The following images are publications made without proprietary design software, most of them are made with HTML and CSS.

CodeX
CodeX

atlas-critique
Louise Drulhe

balsamine
Open Source Publishing

medor2
Open Source Publishing

Medor4
Open Source Publishing

constant-page001-bd
Open Source Publishing

IMG_20171016_140939
Figures Libres

parsons2
PrePostPrint Worshop