Libre Planet 2022 (proposals due 12/15)

Hello. I’m new to discourse but have been following this group. I’m a ux designer/strategist and work on a blog called called Possible Futures “cataloging movement towards ethics, social responsibility and systemic change in tech, design and culture” and linked to OSD in a post from our Open Source issue.

Someone reached out to me to propose a talk about challenges incorporating design into open source and/or challenges OS has with user adoption. Does anyone have experience with these? Or have overcome these barriers? My focus has been on awareness and barriers to initial entry. Am curious where other people are at and would be up to collaborate on a proposal around this.

Or… just passing this on in case anyone is into doing their own session. Also wondering what folks think about Libre Planet.

https://my.fsf.org/lp-call-for-sessions

thanks!

Hi @colombene,

Welcome to our Open Source Design community and thanks for posting this topic. This is a big topic.

Alot of us contribute to open source software - both “for pleasure and public good” (i.e. not for profit), and as a day job (i.e. for profit, and hopefully for pleasure and public good :slight_smile: ).

I’m going to tag a few people and hopefully they’ll have some time to add comments. @jan @belenbarrospena @jdittrich @Erioldoesdesign @evalica @htietze (and others).

For me the challenges of incorporating design into open source include the following -

• often (but not exclusively) the code contributor has a limited view (I guess based on experience) of what a UX designer does/can do. Design is often seen solely at the visual/graphic level, as opposed to being part of the process of designing how the software actually works.