Starting my journey into Open Source Design

Hello everyone,
I am Eugene. I am a UI/UX designer with experience in UI design and a little experience in UX. I just got into Open Source Design recently through @Erioldoesdesign and she is helping me understand what it is all about and the opportunities one can get through Open Source Design. I would like to start contributing to Open Source Design projects on here. Here are some of the designs that I have worked on; let me know if you like them and if you have some open source design projects that you would like me work on with you, I would be happy to help.

3 Likes

Hey @Eugene great to see your previous work here :wink: and it looks great!

Some fantastic UI work and good layout work.

What kind of OSS do you think you’d like to work with? Dev tools? or Humanitarian projects? or is there a topic you’re particularly interested in? (like branding as a design topic or maybe like operating systems like Linux?)

Thanks Eriol @Erioldoesdesign.
I haven’t really gotten to know about these branches of OSS. It would be great if you could help clarify how a designer can contribute to OSS like Dev tools and Humanitarian projects.

3 Likes

So if they aren’t on our jobs page right now the open source design community can reach out to OSS projects to seek their interest and willingness to have design contributions.

I suggest using github and gitlabs search functions and searching for your interest (e.g. Search:Refugee tech) or look at Open Collective https://opencollective.com/discover for projects.

Find a way to contact these OSS projects you like and grow the interaction from there :slight_smile:

2 Likes