Introductions (come in, say hi)

Hey all!

Adopting a classic forum style I think it’d be cool if we had an introductions thread, something that I think was kind of missing on GitHub.

Take a moment to introduce yourself. Tell us who you are, where you are, what you like doing most on a daily basis, what brought you to open source design, and what you’re most excited about for this community. Tell us as much or as little as you like!

24 Likes

And to start off - I’m a developer with a training in UX who was trained in comp-sci. I live in Skagway Alaska, and as the summer approaches I’m looking forward to digging in dirt, climbing mountains, and sitting on boats.

My open source project of choice is OpenFarm and got involved in OSD when I randomly was invited to the organization by someone. During the day I work on humanitarian aide projects and feel fortunate that I’m able to do so.

I’m excited that all of OSD’s conversations will be happening in one place and in a context that is probably (hopefully!) a bit friendlier to newcomers.

6 Likes

I’ve never understood the reasons for creating such topics :slight_smile: but I guess it’s polite to say hi and to introduce yourself. So: ‘Hi :slight_smile: I’m @evalica

The only note I want to make is that we have something similar on GitHub, see https://github.com/opensourcedesign/organization/tree/master/people, but the participation was not that great. So if someone wants to know more about some OSD members you can check there or here. I guess it’s easier to tell us about you in the forum than creating a PR :slight_smile:

I’m an Interaction Designer and my focus is mostly in creating the XWiki platform, which is also an open source project. I loved and promoted open source all my life and I guess that’s says it all :slight_smile: I’m based in Iasi, Romania.

9 Likes

In a distributed community such as ours it helps getting to know each other. :wink: Good on starting this thread.