Actionable workflows and tools for designers who want to contribute to open source projects

Hello, I’m an intern with OpenRefine (an open source data cleaning software) and I’m working to improve how designers are onboarded and contribute to open source projects.

I would like to know the workflows and tools that communities use to define and help publish GitHub issues and actionable workflows for designers who want to contribute to open source projects.

Please let me know if you can help, I promise it won’t be a long chat.

Alternatively, I understand if it’s a dent in your schedule and have put together my questions in a Google form and would appreciate the feedback.

Google form: https://forms.gle/jmCVpJnkebV6EkBF7

2 Likes

It has many aspects, but in my experience, open source projects are rather code focussed, so a lot of what works and does not work falls and stands with the developers.

• Find out which tasks developers are willing to work on. Some parts of the software might have super cumbersome code, some parts might be fun to improve etc.
  • Find out what kinds of feedback/UX input is seen as trustworthy. The role of “the expert” in a non-coding discipline is often eshewed in FOSS projects (Then, non-coders they are “not skilled” or they are non-code “experts who just come and tell us what to do”). But there are also many communities which might trust a heuristic review, a small scale usability test or just expert opinion. The latter might be packaged in interface guidelines, which actually can be an excellent way to push for better UX, since the format is similar to other guidelines that developers follow in their work.