The five members of staff

Early thoughts, in no particular order:

• avoid disappointment, think long-term – let’s not rush to fill all vacancies
  • it could be practical to have someone who has prior experience with administration of a Discourse instance … but not essential (there’s great support from the Discourse team)
  • it will be nice to have a group that’s not entirely male
  • for additional balance and inclusivity, I’d like there to be someone who’s not too entrenched in OSD traditions … someone who will be prepared to kindly but firmly bring an external perspective to staff matters if ever we take too introverted an approach.

We (staff) can keep exclusivity to a minimum by making best use of the private and public lounges:

Reactions?

:slight_smile:

Agreed to all of the above.

I’d like there to be someone who’s not too entrenched in OSD traditions

If I understand your fourth point correctly, as an OSD newbie, I do not consider myself at all entrenched in OSD traditions and fit your description reasonably well. Anyway, I suspect there will be enough discussion in the Site Feedback and other channels.

Your criteria are a good start, but the big question for me is how to decide who to nominate.

1 Like

Privately, some nominations were received. I have invited the nominees, all of whom are aware of the nominations, to gently make their own decisions in the private Lounge. Watch that space :slight_smile:

:ballot_box_with_check:

@studiospring re: your previously private plea for more transparency:

• I assume that you’re happy for your previously private responses above to be within the move to transparency of this topic

– if not, please edit appropriately. Thanks.

Everyone else: please note that from the outset, I wished to keep exclusivity to a minimum.

3 Likes

By the way, I put the list of people who are on the forwarding email core -at- opensourcedesign.net at https://github.com/opensourcedesign/organization/issues/63#issuecomment-293839577