Methods to make an open source project's developer community more aware of its end users and their needs: personas? other ideas?

Hi all! I work with the OpenRefine project. I’m not a designer - I am the project director; but am very interested in introducing more UX design work and general user-focused sensibilities into our project.

What kind of methods/tools/tips would you have to help OpenRefine’s developer community understand, and build for, its end users?

Personally, I am familiar with personas. I have used them in previous projects, and I really like the idea of introducting them in our project, especially with the attempt to make ‘our’ personas really visible and memorable for all code contributors. (‘I think Sandeep will be very confused by that new feature we are discussing here’ or ‘Yayyy, this is finally going to solve the struggle that Pam always had with…’)
That said, while I think personas are a good idea: I have never been involved in a project that really took them seriously and used them in the actual work. One designer I work with, dislikes / discourages personas (perhaps for this exact reason, I should really ask her for her more in depth opinion on this).

Hence my question. Do you have ideas for me? Do some of you know of projects where personas DID actually do a useful job, had a clear influence, and if so: how did that happen?

Or are there other, better methods?

Especially since I’m dealing with a quite nerdy, specialized, partly very academic developer community. This issue of ‘always making the end user very visible’ is really important to me!

Thanks all! I hope you find this a fun question :slight_smile: Sandra

3 Likes